Why did Clockwork create a duplicate person when I imported someone from Linkedin?

When you import a contact from a CSV file or LinkedIn or by parsing a resume, the system will check for anyone in your database with the same email address or LinkedIn URL to determine whether already exist in your Clockwork database.

If the system finds a contact with a matching email address or LinkedIn URL who already exists in Clockwork, it will simply update the existing profile with any new information acquired from the latest import; if the system does not locate a contact record with a matching email address or LinkedIn URL, it will create a new profile for the person because the two profiles lack a unique, overlapping identifier.

In situations where the system suspects that the two profiles might still belong to the same person (due to having the same name and/or position details), you will see a warning at the top of your Clockwork page when the possible duplicate has been created.

Clicking "here" will lead you to a page where you can see all possible duplicate contact records, to determine whether you would like to merge them.

If you do not want to merge the profiles: simply leave the page and ignore the warning notification - it will disappear when an email is associated with the account.

If you want to merge the profiles: Specify which contact records you would like to merge, using the checkboxes next to each.

Once you've selected the contact records you wish to merge, click the drop-down that says "Apply to x People" and select the option to "Merge".

Once you select merge, you will be taken to the newly updated entry for your contact and will see a confirmation at the top of the page that the merge was successfully performed.


RELATED ARTICLES:

Merge Contacts

Parse a Resume

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us